Need Newbie Speaker Recommendation? Low Budget

Username: Drawde84

Post Number: 1
Hi. First, I apologize beforehand, because I am a complete newbie in respect to audio and home theater. The situation is that I'm right out of college, and I'm in med school, so I really have very little money to spend (I'm racking up the debt as we speak). However, four friends and I are planning out our apartment for next year and are each assigned to cover a different aspect of having a cool but cheap media room. One person already volunteered to get a 32" HDTV, someone else is covering the futon, someone else will get a game system... and I wanted to cover audio, since I listen to music constantly.

Unfortunately, my budget is real slim. And I mean REALLY slim. I'm looking to spend around $200 or less. I understand I can barely get anything with that amount of money, and any audiophile will scoff at whatever system I end up with, but I just want the best I can get with the money I have.

So I've learned that my two main options are buy a HTIB or start buying better components individually and build up from there. On the HTIB side, I learned that one of the best deals is the refurbished Onkyo S-590 (~$150), which has not so great speakers but a half-decent receiver that I can slow build around if I fall upon some money. (Please let me know if you have any other suggestions on a HTIB <$200)