Need Help setting up my home theater

Username: Newbie101

Post Number: 1
Ok, so here's the deal. I am a newb to home theater, though i have expertise in other aspects of tech and i am no dolt when it comes to simple tasks, but this problem boggles me.

Without being too in depth, i am trying to hook up a plethera of items to my new tv and allow all of these items to take advantage of the surround sound i have set up. I use extended cable, and have a great next gen sony tv that takes everything from hdmi to fiber optic audio cables. So my solution was to hook everything into the tv, and use the fiber optic out on the back of my tv into my reciever. I figured this would give me surround sound regardless of the device, but clearly i was mistaken. Some of the devices i am hooking up are old and don't function on a digital level, while others do, but regardless, no sound comes out.

Someone please tell me. Am i on the right track and just ran into a roadblock or am i completely off in the deep end?

I can take it, i promise.

-Confused newb on the loose...

Gold Member
Username: Joe_c

Atlanta, GA USA

Post Number: 1175
1> All audio goes to amp, whether rca type connection or digital (opticakl or coax)

2> Unless amp has video switching (and even if it does it maybe better to avoid it) all video goes to tv in different inputs.

This may help and of course will not always work, but it is a good starting point.

Optical always does better going through the amp directly. Basically mute the tv's internal speakers and use the externals for everything.

Username: Hodedofome

TX USA

Post Number: 3
I haven't found a tv that takes the audio from an HDMI cable and outputs sound through the optical audio out port.