Need help choosing a system. (tight Budget)

Username: Hanzpoo

Post Number: 1
Ok guy's I am very new to this and I am on a budget. It is time to get rid of my old JVC surround sound. I have been reading on here and see that nobody likes Bose. Thats how I found this site was looking to see if Bose was worth the money. I have about 1500.00 to spend on a whole unit, I know that is not much, but what would be the best bang for my buck?

Silver Member
Username: Arande2

400dB could probably d..., 4000 isnt ev... 100,000dB FU...

Post Number: 230
By whole unit do you mean like a receiver, a whole system setup? What all does this include?

Silver Member
Username: Armstrongguy

Post Number: 111
Hi Matthew. I know that HTIB's often get a bad rap (usually for good reason), but I am very happy with my Pioneer system that came with my 50" Hitachi LCD TV as a package deal.
It is a new Pioneer model (HTP55HDFS) found at Futureshop for $699.99, and it comes complete with nice tower (tallboy style) speakers front and back, a good subwoofer and centre channel, and even comes with a "real" receiver and great quality upconverting DVD player, HDMI, the whole works.
I am so happy with the sound. I just wish you could hear it before you go ahead and spend much more for something that doesn't sound near a nice. It looks fantastic too! Absolutely terrific deal for the price. It puts all other HTIB's to shame.Upload

Silver Member

Post Number: 231
Ok yeah I'm still up. ANYWAY!~Yes the right HTiB's give great performance! That right there I've actually heard in store and it sounds pretty good up until you start blasting it. Everything is designed to complement everything else, of course it sounds nice!

Silver Member
Username: Armstrongguy

Post Number: 112
Actually with the proper tweaking, it will blast with the best of them! It took me a couple of weeks of playing with all of the settings to really make it rock.

Post Number: 2