Is it worth the struggle to get digital output on cable box

Username: Paresh

Post Number: 4
Hello, I am new to HT so please forgive a couple of newbie questions.

I recently purchased an Harman Kardon avr-435 reciever and am going to use it with my digital cable box for now. (The HK decodes all the major surround formats).

If I have understood previous posts correctly, I need to have a digital out on my cable box connected to the digital input on my receiver in order to get true DD/DTS 5.1 sound. Is that right?

As it happens, I only have a pair of RCA audio outs on my cable box. From what I've read in this forum, it can be an ordeal to secure a cable box with the proper digital outs. I'm wandering, is it really worth the trouble? How much programming is actually in DD 5.1?

Finally what about Dolby Pro Logic II? I understand that this takes the 2 channel sound output via the RCA outs on the cable box and creates a virtual surround experience? How well does this work? How much programming out there has the pro logic encoded into it?

Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to answer my questions.
Paresh

Username: Eib_nation

Ohio EIB Nation

Post Number: 3
Do you have HDTV?? Most HD programming is broadcast in 5.1 surround, and you'll probably need to subscribe to HD programming to also get the 5.1. (Unless you're getting HD-Locals OTA)

Will it make a difference?? Yes, most definitely!! Should you make the upgrade?? I guess that depends on whether or not you have HDTV. Your receiver will matrix a 2-channel source into a simulated 5.1 soundfield, but it will sound better if it's a 5.1 source.

Good Luck

Gold Member
Username: Chitown

Post Number: 1143
That's correct Paresh. Don't confuse digital cable with HD cable. Most of the digital cable boxes out there don't offer a digital output of any kind. Generally you need to get HD cable to get a digital outputs (audio or video).

Gold Member
Username: John_s

Columbus, Ohio US

Post Number: 1019