What do I need?

Username: Freestone

Post Number: 1
First of all, I want to get this out of the way: I am an amateur in the subject of home theater.I currently bought a logitech z-5500 speaker system. It is great. But I want to hook everything up to it, ie dvd/vcr, tv, xbox, and want to have radio. I think I need a receiver, but included with the system is a little control center, which has all the necessary decoders and connects with the speakers and subwoofer. I don't know exactly how this forum works, but I need help! from someone who knows what they're talking about!

Bronze Member
Username: Mph

Post Number: 25
A little more information regarding the control centers inputs would be useful, but I'll take a stab at this one. If the control center has the inputs you wish to use, there is no reason you can't just use it. If it does not, you will need a receiver. Receivers have a variety of high quailty inputs for audio (optical and digital coax inputs). They can act as a "switch" for high resolution video sources if your tv has a limited number of inputs on it. Receivers have a built-in tuner for your radio needs as well. The increased number of inputs using a receiver allows for future upgrades if you might add components down the road.

Only you know if your control center has all of these options. If it does not, a receiver would be the way to go.

I hope this post helped you some in your decision making process. Feel free to post a reply or send and e-mail if you think I can help you further. Good luck!

Username: Dianalynn

Albany, Oregon USA

Post Number: 1