E need help setting up new system

Username: Amandatanner

Post Number: 1
Hi. We just got a 50" plasma. It has a slot for a cable card. We have a digital cable box, a vcr, a sanyo dvd player/recorder, a TIVO, a yamaha reciever, and bose acoustimass 16 speakers. What we don't have is any clue how to set this up. I've heard that we have to keep the cable box because our tivo won't work with the cable card..... please, please tell me where to start. Step by step - I'm a teacher, but this is above me.

Gold Member
Username: Project6

Post Number: 5357
http://www.ce.org/connections_application/

Silver Member
Username: Chitown

Post Number: 745
Thank God they came up with this.

Gold Member

Post Number: 5372
no doubt
Upload

Post Number: 2
Thanks guys. I did my best, but my first connection says tv to av receiver.... audio, no inputs/outputs available.... video best component video. aaaaaaaaaarrrrrgh

Gold Member

Post Number: 5418
You receiver has no inputs?

Do you have the manual for these equipment?

Post Number: 3
The receiver has the following inputs:
3 Component Video Inputs & 1 Output, 3 S-Video Inputs & 2 Out, 4 Composite Inputs & 2 Out

Username: Jay_l

Quad Cities, Il

Post Number: 10
Do you have a High Definition cable box?

You have a Tivo so I need to know what you are using the Dvd recorder for?

Silver Member
Username: Chitown

Post Number: 748
Amanad you generally don't need an audio from TV to receiver. Your audio should come from your source which is the Cable box, DVD, DVR, Satellite etc. In other words you want to bypass your TV in terms of audio and let your AVR handel audio. If you click on the Video button you will see the video connection.

Post Number: 4
i have the tivo, just got a dvd player and recorder combo as a gift

Post Number: 5
oops, i forgot... cable is digital, not hi def

Bronze Member
Username: Jay_l

Quad Cities, Il

Post Number: 11
Okay lets try this.

Cable from the wall to the coax input of your digital cable box.