Why do I need the biggest, baddest receiver I can afford?

Username: Fresh

Post Number: 1
I am new to this so please excuse my ignorance.

I am upgrading my home theater and need a new receiver. In looking at features, one of the biggest seems to be connectivity to the TV.

Why do I need all these connections if the TV has the 2 connections I need? If all I am using is a HD cable box and a DVD, wouldn't I just run the video directly to the tv and run the audio via optical cable through the receiver?

What do I gain by running the video through the receiver? I don't see the point. Would I only do this if I did not have enough ports on the TV or if I wanted to upconvert to a better connection?

Which brings me to my question. If I don't need the connections, why should I pay for them?

I would pay up to $800 for a receiver, but I don't see what I get beyond extra connections and more power. And just because I would pay that I am not sure I should. For example, Harman Kardon has the 140, 240, 340 and 635 from $300-$600. Should I just get the most expensive assuming it is better and not use the connections?(I am a marketing departments dream)

So for a guy who just wants a good home theater and does not need the coolest system ever built that I can show off to my friends, what is a good receiver?

Thanks for any help you can offer.
freshd

Silver Member
Username: Reinhart

Post Number: 206
"I am upgrading my home theater and need a new receiver. In looking at features, one of the biggest seems to be connectivity to the TV.

Why do I need all these connections if the TV has the 2 connections I need? If all I am using is a HD cable box and a DVD, wouldn't I just run the video directly to the tv and run the audio via optical cable through the receiver?"

Basically, it's there for convenience. But, you don't have to use them.