New System Advise (Speakers?)

Gold Member
Username: Mikechec9

Http://www.cardomain.c...

Post Number: 1287
peace. i'm a car audiophile, so i'm a relative newb to HT and this forum. i appreciate it if you can bare w/me as i'm certain (if this forum is anything like the caraud. forum) you get this question about 10x/day.
basically i am trying to assist my dad with his HT setup (to match his new plasma) and am not certain as to which way to go. i have been eying a denon set-up with martin logan speakers, but i'm sure he's not going to allow for any more than about 1000-1500 as far as the drivers go.
so that's my primary issue, speakers. although anything else that i may have overlooked would be appreciated.

thanks

Gold Member
Username: Jan_b_vigne

Dallas, TX

Post Number: 6201

Huh? What exactly do you want us to do?

Gold Member

Post Number: 1292
"so that's my primary issue, speakers. although anything else that i may have overlooked would be appreciated."

advise?

Bronze Member
Username: Paul98

Post Number: 30
What does he currently have and what does he need? Like does he have an HD receiver, dvd player, sub,...? What are the main concerns for what he is looking for, and about how much total is he looking to spend?

Gold Member

Post Number: 1293
this is a brand new system for the living room. so we're basically starting from scratch. again the main concern is speakers and that range is about 1-1500.00.
i'm thinbking about the denon set up that offers a reasonable amount of headroom, but nothing extreme. just good build quality and dynamics. i'm looking for a superb image and stage in the speakers with extreme clarity and neutrality. a good balance between the above stated and money.
my reference point in caraudio is http://www.cardomain.com/profile/mikechec9 if that makes it any easier.

Bronze Member

Post Number: 33