First Timer Home Theatre Please Help

Username: Dibblejr

Post Number: 1
Anybody Outhere ???
I have read and re-read every post to this thread and have not been able to solve my problem. I am a newbie at this game of trying to setup my home theatre.

I have a Sherwood R945 Receiver, Sony DVP S570D CD/ DVD player with dolby 5.1, Scientific Atlanta Explorer 2200 Cable Box, JVC Stereo Television.
There are no diagrams above with this setup, they either have all of tha with VCR or without cable box.
Radio Shack helped me a little when I bought the gold cables however I cant get sound through the speakers while watching TV and I no longer can listen to the radio through the receiver.
These are the connections that radio shack helped me with, and this is how I have it connected;
1.) Cable from wall to Cable Box "IN"
2.) Cable Box "OUT" to TV
3.) TV Audio " OUT" to Receiver "AUX " ( Front of receiver)
4.) TV "S" Video connected to DVD "S" video
5.) DVD Audio " OUT" 2 CH to Receiver " Rear Pre Out "
6.) DVD Bitstream "Optical" to Receiver " Optical"

FM Antenna is connected correctly and the speakers are also correct.

As I explained above, with these connections I have no surround sound while watching tv and I have no Radio through my receiver.
The Sherwood Manual is very hard to understand for a novice like me, any help you can give me will be greatly appreciated.

stereo wiring challenged.
JR

Bronze Member
Username: Diverhank

Huntington Beach, CA

Post Number: 24
I'm not familiar with your equipment so take this with a grain of salt. Your #2 and #3 connections are not optimum. On a typical receiver (yours appears to be a good, full featured one). Typically your receiver will have many identical inputs (video1,2,3, audio (RCA pair red/white) 1,2,3..., a few optical in and a couple of digital coax in and a few outs.

I would do the following for the cable box: