Just starting out...need receiver, speakers, etc

Username: Sme0819

Post Number: 1
I just bought the Sony 50WE655 LCD TV for my 17'x25' room. I want to get a good home theater system to go with it and really don't know where to start. I've looked at Denon & Onkyo receivers and dvd players but really don't know what I need and don't need or what's worth the money. For speakers I've been looking at Polk and Infinity surround sound systems. I'd like to keep the budget around $2K before cables. Any advise from you guys out there would be a big help!
Thanks
Scott

Bronze Member
Username: Divin11112000

Michigan

Post Number: 38
I've heard that the Denon recievers are better than the Onkyo, although I have no experience in either brands. I believe the 3801 is the Denon, and I've read that alot of people like HK.
As far as speakers, only your ears can tell you which is better. Last time I listened to Infinity, I was in a Circuit City and sounded like it was lacking mids (was a few years ago). I would give some other speakers a listen to unless you've already done that and are settled on those 2 brands. Klipsch has some nice speakers as well. My reference 35 setup work real well with my pioneer vsx-d811s, but who doesn't like their own equipment? Klipsch also has the senergy series at bestbuy if you don't want to go to the "botique" stores looking for speakers.

Username: Sme0819

Post Number: 2
Thanks for the input Chris.

One thing I forgot is that I also want to be able to run two additional speakers outside to the deck so I'll need a receiver that will allow for that type of setup.
Thanks

Bronze Member
Username: Griffin_andrews

Post Number: 16
Scott,
I'm pretty new to the home theater game myself but, I can share one nugget that was helpful to me.