Help me I'm a noob

Username: Ricardoht

Post Number: 1
I recently bought an Onkyo HTS 770. Whenever I try to play DTS I hear no sound. Why is that? I can use Dolby Digital EX but no DTS.

With my DVD player I have the option of the following Digital Sound output:

Dolby Digital/PCM
PCM
Stream

Sample frequency:
48 KHz
96 Khz

Which option should I choose? I'm new to this and I don't understand what PCM and those frequencies are for.

Any help?

Username: Lazarus2297

Post Number: 9
just a quick question you are connecting the DVD player via one of the digital outs aren't you. I didn't realize that at first. And if you give more specific details on what DVD you are watching does it have a DTS track, etc...

Post Number: 2
I was watching Gangs of New York and it does have a DTS track. My DVD player is hooked up with components to the receiver.

The Digital Sound Output thing is from the setup of my DVD player.

thanks

Bronze Member

Post Number: 12
what audio connection do you have from the DVD player to the reciever the component out is video connection that doesn't matter. I had the same problem on my reciever but that was because i was using the L an R audio connections those can't do the digital signal.

one other thing you might want to try is when you play the DTS track hit the setup key on your onkyo remote and scroll until you see audio adjustments(or something like that) and see if DTS is set to AUTO. This menu will only show up if you have a DTS signal coming into the reciever though.

Bronze Member

Post Number: 13
what audio connection do you have from the DVD player to the reciever the component out is video connection that doesn't matter. I had the same problem on my reciever but that was because i was using the L an R audio connections those can't do the digital signal.