Yamaha HT-5760 and Bose speakers

Avi
Unregistered guest
Hello:

I just bought the Yamaha HTR-5760 receiver, along with a 5-speaker system (Bose Acoustimass 6 Series III speakers, which also comes with the Acoustimass module/subwoofer). I am totally new to the home theater business, and have the following questions:

1. I have hooked up the speakers as follows: 2 as front speakers (A), 1 as the center speaker, and 2 as surround speakers. Is this correct?

2. When I hook everything up and perform auto setup using YPAO, each speaker emits sounds normally. But, in the end I get warning W-1 on some speaker(s) being 'out of phase'. However, I have repeatedly checked my connections, and they are correct. Also, even if I follow the W-1 recommendations and change the polarity on speaker x and rerun the auto setup, I get another similar warning on speaker y being out of phase, and so on. The upshot is that I have never been able to complete the auto setup process successfully. Why does this happen, and is there a way to complete the auto setup process even if I ignore these W-1 warnings?

3. My center and 2 surround speakers in the back sound very low. I have tried to adjust the speaker levels, but that does not seem to help.

4. The center speaker is only active when I play some DVDs. Is that normal? Does the center speaker ever work when the audio input is analog (2 RCA stereo connectors) ?

Thanks a lot for your help.

Anonymous

I have the Yamaha HTR-5790 receiver, which is a similar receiver and also fetures YPAO. It is matched to 7.1 klipsch F-3 speakers and the Velodyne DLS 3500 sub.

1. Your set up seems ok.