Home Theatre Set-Up

Username: Jack_swm

Post Number: 1
I'm a bit of a novice at all this (well, a complete novice actually).

We were given a Sansui Home Theatre with Built-in amplifier (SAN631) for a wedding gift but we have no idea how to get it working!

This is what our instructions tell us:
Upload

But all our equipment (TV, VCR, DVD) only have Audio output L and R. We're getting a new TV tomorrow which may have more but how can we plug it in?? It has 6 plugs and everything we own only has room for 2?

- Jack

gonzalez
Unregistered guest
i have a LG 51 cm tv, lg dvd player and a Sony stereo unit which has rca outputs for 5.1 surround sound and two sets of L and R outputs. i was wondering how i can conect both my dvd player and tv in order to get surround sound through both. at the moment the sound works through the dvd by connecting with rca cables but the tv doesn't.

Unregistered guest
Jackie,
The 6 analog connections you show are for 5.1 channel audio, which normally you would use for your DVD player. If your DVD player does not support a digital connection (coax or optical), then you will just have to connect the L/R (red/white) outputs from your DVD player to the DVD input on your receiver. The same goes for your VCR (L/R out from your VCR to L/R input on your receiver).

gonzalez,
I'm not sure what you mean by "Sony stereo unit". Is it a stereo receiver?

I'd also urge you guys to look at the manuals that came with your equipment -- they usually have several diagrams, one of which will surely match your particular situation.

Post Number: 2
Thanks for that...

The diagram I included was all the manual had about hooking it up. There was an additional sheet which stated: 'hook up all 6 cords from the amplifier to the 6 corresponding output terminals on the back of your dvd player'

We tried hooking up just to the L and R but only got sound in two speakers while the others buzzed.

- Jackie

Anonymous