Mitsubishi WS-65807 Error Code 22 - Short Protection

Username: Ellingsw

Post Number: 1
About a year ago I fixed the convergence problem on my Mitsubishi WS-65807 but now it will not power on.

If I try to power on the TV, the power light will come on, I will hear a relay click and then it will power right back off after about 2-3 seconds. The TV indicates an error code 22 (short circuit protection).

Before I go digging into the TV to find the problem, is there any one who can advise me what to look for?

I have an unused EET degree and I might as well use it to fix my own TV if possible.

Username: Mits_55

Post Number: 1
Steve Elling,
Did you get any information? I am having the same Problem.
I have the WS-55807.

Username: Smc57

Boston, Ma Us

Post Number: 2
Steven, I'm having the same problem. It just turns on for 1 second then off. Did you replace the (2) STK392-570 IC? That's what I keep reading is the issue. I had the "hourglass" effect for a year or so before it turned off for good.

Post Number: 2
Bryon,

No, I do not have any more information yet. I've been looking around the net but solid information continues to elude me.

Steve (SMC57),

When I originally fixed the convergence problem, I just resoldered the connections on the ICs. I didn't know the issue was the STK392-570 ICs themselves. Then again, a heat sink that big is a clue.

I've also read the convergence ICs will run hot unless the convergence is adjusted as close as possible with the yoke rings then tweeked via the convergence ICs.

I really don't want to mess with the yoke rings and the post about adjusting the yoke rings had to do with a "Mitsubishi WS-65807 eating convergence modules".

I have a DMM with max hold and tried to measure the positive and negative power voltages to the convergence ICs but either the voltages are not applied to the ICs before the short circuit protection kicks in or the F9A04 and F9A05 fuses are blown.