Samsung HL-R6167 Owner Needs a Hand

Username: Deegan

Post Number: 6
Since this group was so helpful in pointing toward this solid Samsung product, I thought I would follow up with some additional questions which have arisen -- now its sitting about 15' away from me, staring at me.

So, first thing I did upon arrival (besides grin at the delivery guys) was put in the Avia DVD and calibrate the screen (then audio). I'm new to the Avia DVD (bought it specifically for this purpose) so give me a nudge if I'm going the wrong way.

Avia worked me through four basic settings: Sharpness, Contrast, Brightness, and Color. I droppped the color from "warm1" to "neutral" right off the bat. I was left with the following settings:

Contrast: 48
Brightness: 45
Sharpness: 5
Color: 60
Tint: (cannot adjust, option is greyed out)

However, with those settings, I've noticed one issue. During scenes with low lighting, I've noticed colors become flat, and much detail is lost in the darkness. What am I missing? How do I adjust Tint? Any web sources on calibrating DLP's (specifically the Samsungs), or web sources on using the Avia disk on DLP's (since it seems to be made for older CRTs -- published in 1999).

Thanks for any info. Much appreciated.

Bronze Member
Username: Klaus

Holiday, FL USA

Post Number: 51
Deegan:
Ignore Joe"good fella" peschi since he is an imposter. What you should try is use your standard, cinema, dynamic settings and see which gives the best performance. You can adjust color weakness in the settings portion of the menu. I think what you are descibing is what some call "clay face". If you have a dvd which has a scene that displays that way, pause the scene and adjust settings to minimize it.

Bronze Member
Username: Fyi

Dallas, Texas

Post Number: 20
Deegan,

Low contrast and hot color will create what you see.

Try this:

Mode + Standard
Color Tone + Normal
Contrast = 95
Brightness = 45-50 for ambient room light.
Sharpness =20