Please "vet" my proposed setup before I make purchases...

Username: Sindyr

Post Number: 1
Perhaps someone in these forums could assist me?

I am a computer consultant, and a techie, but not an AV or HT maven. I am replacing my AV in my living room, and in the process upgrading to HD. I have a budget of $5000 (or so) for everything.

I want (I think) a 55 inch 240HZ (real or processed) TV with LED local Dimming and excellent audio. Additionally, I am connecting a gaming computer to the system to be able to play games like Jumpgate and City Of Heroes, as well as games like Portal or Assasin's Creed. (I already have a kickass gaming computer for the purpose.) Here are the components I have narrowed down into -- what do you guys think?

• Toshiba - 55sv670u ($2800 at our local store -- a bit pricier there than the internet, but I like these guys and want them to service it.)
• Yamaha RX-V1065 7.1-Channel Home Theater Receiver ($710)
http://www.yamaha.com/yec/products/productdetail.html?CNTID=5036142
• Energy Take Classic 5 pack Home Theater System ($200)
http://www.energy-speakers.com/na-en/products/take-classic-5-pack-overview/
• Energy S12.3 Subwoofer ($579)
http://www.energy-speakers.com/na-en/products/s12-3-overview/
• DirecTV DVR HR23-700 ($200)
• BluRay, PS3, and/or XBOX360 to be added later
• $350 TV Stand
• $350 labor setup
• $300 5-year warranty

Total: $5489 (quite a bit over, but perhaps for a good cause?)

My question is twofold: Have I chosen the right components? Especially the subwoofer -- I like the reviews of the Energy S12.3 Sub -- good wattage, goes down all the way to 19 Hz, good reviews, but it is an older model -- is something newer better, or as good and cheaper? And while we are on the subject, have I picked the right TV? I cannot afford the Sony Triluminos 55 inch TV with local dimming and 240 Hz I don't think, nor the Samsung 8500 one.