Help With Receiver

Username: Bigr0b280

NJ

Post Number: 1
Ok, so i'm fairly new to all of this home theater stuff but I recently started to build up what seems like a promising system. Ive got a 42" LG HDTV, which ill be playing blue rays off of my ps3 on. Then I just got the Klipsch Quintet SL speakers to accompany. I'm planning on buying a sub but I want to get a receiver first just I can get everything hooked up. I cant spend too much so im looking for something under 400 obviously the cheaper the better. I did a little research and narrowed down my selection to the Marantz SR3001 or the Onkyo TX-SR506. Can anyone help me out with which would be the better choice or is there something else cheaper that will work for me that I missed??

Silver Member
Username: Jrbay

Livonia [Detroit area], Michigan USA

Post Number: 358
First and foremost, have you listened to either of the receivers that you are considering? Both are fine receivers that have very little negative feedback.

It may well be that you like the sound of both units and if that is the case then I would suggest deciding on the basis of the "look and feel". By that I mean do the controls make sense to you and more importantly can you opererate the remote in the dark???

NJ

Post Number: 2
I have not yet had the chance to listen to either of the receivers because I'm currently on business travel, but I plan on trying to listen to them when I get home. Thanks for the advice, I just wanted to make sure that I wasn't missing out on anything cheaper and that I would be able to do everything I want to with either of these receivers.

Silver Member
Username: Cclashh

Post Number: 332