Beginner's HT question

Username: Notbob

Post Number: 1
Ok guys, I'm a newbie in this area, so I would appreciate some simple help.

I have/am getting:

HDTV
HD Cable service
Xbox 360
5.1 surround system

The surround setup has one optical input and one digital coaxial audio input. And the xbox 360 will need to take the optical input.

Now here's my question. Will I be able to get 5.1 from my TV by using an HDMI cable to go from cable box to TV, and THEN using the TV's coaxial output into the home theater system?

Thanks in advance for any clarification I can get on this issue.

Silver Member
Username: Jrbay

Livonia [Detroit area], Michigan USA

Post Number: 236
I have to assume that your 5.1 AVR does not have HDMI capability, correct? If not then you are on the right track as far as this particular hook up.

Your cable box should have an orange, or digital coax output on it that would be better to use to connect to the AVR than the TV's digital out.

If the cable box doesn't have coax out then the TV's output will work as long as the all signals to it are carried via HDMI. In other words, signals from say a VCR hooked up directly to the TV will probably not be converted to digital and therefore output from your TV via digital coax.

Hope this helps,

Post Number: 2
Ahh that does help thanks. Yeah the only wild card was that I don't know what output the digital cable box will have when I get it set up (other than HDMI). So I wanted to make sure that if it didn't have coaxial, that I would still be okay to send it through the TV first.

Silver Member

Post Number: 239
That would explain it, you do not have the cable box to look at yet!

It will more than likely have a coax out that you can use.

Enjoy!

Post Number: 3
So will this work? It's the HT-DDW790. Here's a link to the specs page where it says:

Inputs and Outputs
* Analog Audio Input(s) : 4 (Rear)
* Digital Media Port (Input) : Yes (no OSD)
* Optical Audio Input(s) : 1 (Rear)