Looking to buy a 5.1 System

Username: Igalnassi

Post Number: 1
Hi there,

First off, thanks a lot to all of you out there who lend a helping hand to beginners like me.

I have a Sony WEGA and I am looking to buy a 5.1 system. I am very much into music, so I am looking for a system that can provide a good sound for music.

I checked out some out of the box systems and the only thing that came close to my liking was the Bose. I have read so many bad reviews about it.

People have been telling me that, to get good sound, I need to get the reciever and the speakers seperately. I have very little experience with matching a speaker set with a reciever.

My only requirement is that I want the speakers to be small or slim tower type of ones.

My budget is around $750.

Can someone please suggest a system that sounds good?

Again, thank you very much for the suggestions.

Bronze Member
Username: Etaniyani

Los Angeles, California

Post Number: 15
If you want good sound for your money, try paradigm. Look into the mini monitors or the monitor 3's. It might exceed your budget a little but definately worth the money. Check out there website as they have a wide range of speakers and prices. The cinema line might be a better fit for your budget. Here's the website, check out there recommended sytems and it will show some prices, but you'll probably be able to get a better deal at some store. Go listen to them and see if you like the sound which i bet you will. Goodluck, and have fun.
http://www.paradigm.com/Website/News/Downloads/Downloads.html

Username: Compumasta

Post Number: 8
I have heard nothing but good things from paradigm and they are recommended a lot on these forums. Other than that i can only recommend going to your local electronics store and finding a system that sounds good to you. Remember that in general, pay more for your speakers than your reciever because speaker technology changes less often than reciever tech.

Bronze Member
Username: Polksavage