VERY early planning stage for a noob

Username: Mothman

Post Number: 1
I chanced across this message board while roaming the net and saw that it looks to be home to a lot of very helpful people... so I'm hoping someone might be able to help me out.

I'm VERY new to the whole Home Theater thing. I don't actually plan on "upgrading" any time in the NEAR future, but do plan on it eventually.

THe "plan" is to eventually get into HDTV and a receiver 5.1 surround setup.

I've self-educated myself a certain amount in regards to the HDTV aspect of it, and think I'm OK there.

But I have a heck of a hard time getting my head around connecting everything via a reciever.

I figure the best plan of action when I DO decide to go out and get new equipment is that I shop based on what I want to do with the gear... ie. what components I have which need "access" to the receiver.

But, I always end up getting very confused when I start thinking about it all, mainly because I've never actually owned a receiver setup, and don't really know what gets connected to what, in what order, what comes first, etc, etc.

It's the INPUTS and OUTPUTS that confuse me.

So, I was hoping that, possibly, if I explained (more or less) what I want to connect in the system, someone might be able to help me to understand what type of inputs/outputs would be needed, and in a GENERAL sense, how they would connect. I know the actual connection would depend on the actual equipment, but perhaps a general guideline could be offered... eg. connecting the cable tv audio through the receiver first, THEN to the TV, or the other way around.

The components that are (or would be) present are as follows:

- TV (digital cable, hopefully HD signals in the future) Ideally I would be able to choose between surround sound and simply listening via the TV speakers.

- VCR Ability to again choose between TV and receiver audio would be good