Opinions Please!

Username: Richieh

Post Number: 1
I am fairly new to HT but like doing research. I have a budget of about $3000 for the audio portion of my HT (receiver, DVD, sub, satelites). If it were your $$$$$ how and with what would you put the system together.

THANKS!

Rich

Unregistered guest
I would put a system together with magnepan MMG-W's and MMG-C ($897 for the system). These are absolutly wonderful speakers that are only 3/4 of an inch thick, and mount on a wall. They fold flat to the wall when not in use. The center channel looks conventional, bue uses the same technology.

The only way to describe the sound:

You hear every nuance in your music and movies. Things that you never thought existed will be brought to life in a never before imagined way. The sound just FILLS the room. They are 5 ohm speakers with a frequency response of 100hz to 16khz. DO NOT let the frequency response scare you off, as they are designed to be mated with a sub, and have cleaner highs than some more expensive designs. The only way you can get the true picture of what these speakers can do is to purchase them direct from magnepan and audition them.

I myself have the MMG-W's so I know what they sound like.

A word of warning though, the break in time is legnthy, and before they break in, you might not be too pleased with what they sound like. Just give them time.

For a subwoofer, I would recommend an SVS PB10-1SD, at the low price of $429. I have not heard this unit yet, but it has been getting rave reviews for its tight, musical, and very low (18hz) bass. SVS is one of the kings of subwoofers, and I can full heartedly reccomend one, even this new design, which I have not heard yet. It is supposedly fast enough (according to the reviews) to mate with a maggie, so that alone says something.