Floor Standing Speakers For $200 or less. Please help.

Username: Farhadf

Post Number: 1
Hey Everyone,

I don't pretend to know anything about audio so please be very frank. I got very lucky, a friend of mine tripped over a gold mine in a

DENON PMA-690 Amp just recently. As i understand it, or the back of it just says it's 180 Watts. It's a little old, maybe 6 or 7 years but it's big and heavy ;) Apparently it's a good amp.

I'm a college student and i need speakers on a budget. One left and one right speaker. I need one of two things. I either need and would prefer a set of floor standing speakers, yes a pair for under 200 dollars. Could dish out slightly more. I've seen some yamahas and sonys out there don't know whether to buy 2 way or 3 way, looking for any suggestions. PLEASE help me. Listen to a lot of jazz music, not a huge fan of having a lot of bass at all. If decient floor standers/towers/35 inches and height and above are not an option i would prefer something tiny instead of midrange book shelfs. When i say tiny i mean something like Bose. Lastly I want you to take a look at these two links and tell me what is wrong with this deal, it is too good to be anything.

Shipping is only 2 dollars on these items, look at this.

http://www.overstock.com/cgi-bin/d2.cgi?cid=17436&PAGE=PRODUCT&PROD_ID=738472&fp =F&siteID=G9DI0mIwIBY-4pNkiRUvBXr1ywu0Ke4fdg

http://www.overstock.com/cgi-bin/d2.cgi?cid=17436&PAGE=PRODUCT&PROD_ID=741816&fp =F&siteID=G9DI0mIwIBY-FbQ9Mypk6kNJcAqMWhu6Jw

ugh. please help. Thanks a lot guys.

-Farhad the confused amp owner.

Anonymous

grab the Sanus (I got 2 pairs for $81 shipped from Overstock) and spend the money on better speakers? what's yer budget?

Unregistered guest