Which amp do I choose for my new speakers?

Username: Nightranger1964

Post Number: 1
I desperately need some guidance and help here in deciding which amp I should pair up with my UsherCP-6381 speakers.The Ushers are rated at 87db sensitivity and have a continuous power handling of 150w.I currently have a Cary CAD88SEI single-ended tube integrated rated at 20w/ch.I had the Cary first which was my first venture into tubes but at the time had a pair of Klipsch Belle speakers at 103db sensitivity.Wasn't overly impressed with Klipsch sound so I went for the Ushers.Sound is a lot better ,more detailed etc. but I still am not satisfied at the fullness,bass or volume that they are putting out and you will have to excuse me as I am a bit of a novice here but I believe the amp is just not feeding the Ushers the power they are hungering for.Could someone maybe suggest a good amp,preferably an integrated that might mate well here and give me that tube like sound but more fullness and volume.Thank you so much.

Platinum Member
Username: Jan_b_vigne

Dallas, TX

Post Number: 14460

Coming from the Belle Klipsch to the Usher is still quite a change in perspective. "Fullness, bass and volume" are going to be dramatically different between the two speakers.

Using your 20 watt Cary into the Klipsch should have provided all the "volume" you would care for. Stepping down from the Klipsch's 104dB to the Usher's 87dB is the equivalent of reducing your twenty watt amp to a mere 1/2 watt in comparison. That will take some getting used to in anyone's estimation. So, while 87dB is not vastly inefficient in today's market that says more about today's market than it does to your situation. Comparing speaker to speaker you are now using a table radio to drive the Ushers - and a very small table radio at that.