The Upgrade Bug strikes again!

Username: Lg0

LincolnUK

Post Number: 1
Firstly, hello all!

Now, before I ask a bunch of questions it would be useful if you knew a bit about me. I'm a student, which immediately tells you that both space and budget are in short supply for me. I listen to a whole plethora of music, but mostly acoustic rock and ambient/post-rock (think Porcupine Tree, Team Sleep).

On with the questions!
My current setup is as follows:

Source - MacBook (a roughly even mix of MP3 and FLAC)
Amp - Fatman iTube
Speakers - Kef iQ10

This is all situated on a desk which is far from ideal but hopefully won't be the case for much longer.

Anyway, the upgrade bug has hit again. The speakers a relatively new purchase, and I think that I can get more out of them than I currently am. I have no interest in changing my source, so my choice is to either replace the amp with something better or add another component such as a DAC. I've already been recommended the Audio GD Compass DAC.

So my question is, what is your opinion on how I should progress with my humble system. A new amp, a DAC, or something different? What would give me the biggest improvement in sound quality?

Also, on another note, I'm looking into getting some good quality headphones, most likely Grado's although until I demo some that isn't certain, so that is worth bearing in mind (for instance the Compass DAC is also a headphone amp from what I gather).

Anyway, any information is appreciated, and I apologise if my post appears vague. If any more information is needed just ask.

Thanks,
Joe

Platinum Member
Username: Nuck

Post Number: 13320
Hey Joe. (I never tire of that).

What part of 'sound quality' do you want to improve?

LincolnUK

Post Number: 2
Hi there Nuck. (your right, it is fun).