Very confused

Username: Rifleman152

Middletown, Rhode island United states

Post Number: 1
Hello, Im new to site and home theater. Im only 1 month into this, and i have the bug! I bought the Yamaha rxv663 to go with my Sony 46 inch, and also purchased Polk audios Rm6750 5.1 system. I have already started to upgrade! (the bug) I now have 2 Polk Rti6s for fronts, and Csi3 for center. I didnt realize what an integral role the sub played so i went and purchased Klipsch sub-12, probably overkill for my setup. Im working on new rears. My biggest confusion is sub to receiver hookup, Polks website stated worst option was Rca, and advised the speaker level inputs on sub to rec. and speaker out to front L&R was most optimal, this learned with Rm6750 setup, with front Large, sub Off or NO and crossover 120. I did Sub-12 same way but set rec. at 80 and sub at 120 hz,kept Large for fronts, and Yamaha offers LFE/BASS OUT: SUB,FRONT,BOTH. I chose BOTH. Is this right? I have no clue, should i go Rca hookup? and if so do i get the Y setup to both line in jacks on Sub? My living room is 15x15, entryway is 7'Hx 6'W off hallway. I have 2 couches in L setup with my system "catycorner" diagonaly in far corner. Thanks for your time and sorry for long post.

Silver Member
Username: Dlavante

D&L Designs, Daniel USA

Post Number: 146
use the rca for sure. i have almost the exact same setup. hook up the subwoofer out on the receiver to the white rca on the sub amp. do front large and LFE out to the sub only. the Y jack is not necessary.

that sub gets nasty loud

Post Number: 2
Thank you for the help. I will change to Rca option and go SUBOUT from receiver to LFE/LEFT (white jack) on rear of Sub and ignore RIGHT/LINE IN (red jack) as you suggest? Do my other settings look ok? Receiver 80Hz Sub 120Hz and with these settings what component is doing what; (Rec/Sub/Speakers)? Thanks again , this is a big relief. Do you own Yamaha 663?

Post Number: 3