Basic setup

Username: Joe139

Post Number: 3
im trying to get an entry-level setup:
nad c325-bee and pair of psb image t45's

the MSRP's are $400 and $800. when i emailed the local audio stores (in boston) they responded $350 for the nad (but no psb). then i found a store that carries both, and when i called, they said they can give me a discount only after i come in to their store. this is my first time buying a sound system outside of a place like best buy, so i was wondering is it possible to hack the price, and if so, can i get it down to $1000 or $1100 given im buying both from the same store?

thanks a lot!

Gold Member
Username: Artk

Albany, Oregon USA

Post Number: 5360
Go and talk to the dealer and pay them what they are worth. Remember your paying both a prodcut AND service!

Gold Member
Username: Nuck

Post Number: 8661
http://www.mykindofmusic.com/index2.htm

Here is a link I like. Not for the faint of heart(or wallet) but this is how I would run a shop.

Platinum Member
Username: Jan_b_vigne

Dallas, TX

Post Number: 11279

Joe - If your reason for stepping into high end audio is to "hack the price", stay at Best Buy and the local flea market. High end audio dealers operate on a slim margin of profit made from low volume sales and high effort support. You go to a high end dealer for the knowledge and assistance they can provide. You hack the price from the jerk who doesn't know anything. If discount is your thing, Joe, save yourself and a high end dealer a headache and stay away. Stick with your Pioneer receiver and Klipsch speakers. As politely as I can make it, you're being a jerk yourself. And, by the way, we are not pricing experts. We answer questions about equipment, not price. Figure it out, Joe.

Gold Member

Post Number: 8666
Uhh, yeah.
Joe working with dealers in audio is a diffferent creature than other realms.
These guys work in venues of personal pleasure, and not the ones that Sue deals by the hour.