Receiver -- What is "reputation" of various brands

Username: Llano

Post Number: 1
I am in the market for a receiver for about $500. I'll be using it 60% for music and 40% for movies, likely with Paradigms (either Atoms or Titans -- I've only got money for the front two for now). I am a total newby here. I've been trying to sort through Denon, Onkyo, Yamaha, HK, NAD, Pioneer Elite, etc. I do not have time to go listen to all of these. I am trying to gauge what the reputation is of each company -- both for making a product that lasts and for the quality of the listening experience -- both music and movie. It seems like folks have strong views, but they rarely explain what's behind them -- e.g., I've seen several posts that say more or less "don't even think about Onkyo," but that provide no rationale whatsoever. So, please if you can give me some advice as to what the reputation of the various brands are and any other useful thoughts, I would appreciate it. Thank you.

Gold Member
Username: Nuck

Post Number: 8454
Mike, the Onlyo line in particular consistantly underperform with regards to their power supplies.
The Integra premium line do meet specs, I believe.
Rotel, Nad H/K and Outlaw all meet rated output.
This has nothing to do with sound quality, just the numbers that are verifyable in print.

Post Number: 4
Thanks, Nuck. For someone who will not likely be pushing the receiver to its limits, does that matter?

What is the rep sound-wise and quality-wise of Onkyo? Some folks say of HK that it is "dark," Yamaha that it is "bright," Bose that it is "tinny." I haven't seen any characterization of Onkyo.

Thanks.

Silver Member
Username: Nickelbut10

Post Number: 296