NAD or Cambridge Audio?

Username: Jmsoave

South Lake Tahoe, CA USA

Post Number: 1
I'm fairly new to hi-fi, and I'm trying to put together a really solid 2-channel (for now) system for my large living room with high ceilings. My budget is low, around $1,500 to get started. I haven't heard much at all (no hi fi stores where I live), but I've done a lot of online and magazine reading, and have narrowed down my amp choices to Cambridge Audio (such as the 340a v2 or the 640a v1) and NAD (either the c320bee, c325bee, or c720bee). All of these I am finding in the $300-400 range.

For speakers, I am thinking of KEF iq5 or Monitor Audio Bronze floorstanders.

Help! Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated, especially as to the general sound and tonality differences between NAD and Cambridge Audio. I've read that CA is usually a little warmer and laid back, and the bass a little looser. While the NAD has more drive and better highs but less bass...is that true?

Cheers,
Joe

South Lake Tahoe, CA USA

Post Number: 2
I should have also mentioned that whichever amp I choose, I will geta DVD/CD player of the same model.

Gold Member
Username: Hawk

Highlands Ranch, CO USA

Post Number: 1195
Joe:

To my ears, the NADs are WAY better than the Cambridge 340. NAD's "low end" models are reknown for providing the best bang for the buck anywhere. The Cambridge is good, but the NADs sound much more expensive, and just about every audio magazine review concurs--see the review of the C325bee/C525bee combo in the February issue of The Absolute Sound which concludes as follows:

"NAD's C 325BEE/C 525BEE combo is one of the best bargains in audio today. The pair offers superb detail, tremendous dynamics, excellent soundstaging, and a simply amazing amount of musicality at a ridiculously low price. I found them not only easy to listen to for many hours at a stretch, but also downright compelling. You may, too. TAS"