Subwoofer fuses keep blowing.

Username: Cgg

Post Number: 1
Hey There,

I sure hope someone can help me with this, cause it's a mystery so far. I'm a contractor who has replaced and installed two new subwoofers for a retail client of mine. I have audio production background, so I figured I was qualified to plug in an rca cable. Uh oh...little did I know.

Here's the scoop:

Okay, of the two old subs, one was rattling, and the other was dead. So the client just said replace them both with the same model. They are Paradigm PDR-12 v.3.

I installed the two new PDR-12's. The both worked fine. I returned to the store one week later to wire in a couple more satelite speakers. When I turned the system back on, both subwoofers blew fuses.

I replaced the fuses. One sub worked fine again. The other would immediately blow a fuse. Two weeks later, the one working sub blew a fuse again. I replaced it and it's now working again. I took the board off the other one and sent it to Paradigm to see if there is an internal short. Waiting for their reply.

The subs are controlled by an X-20 low pass controller wired into the pre of the Kenwood receiver. The satelites are controlled by a Niles SSVC-4.

Yesterday I opened up the old sub that was dead and it had a blown fuse too, so this has been a problem for a while I guess.

I find it hard to believe that 2 brand new subwoofers would both have faulty amps. Paradigm makes good stuff don't they?

So, any thoughts as to why the fuses keep blowing? An electrican checked the receptacles and they were fine. He checked the draw on the one working sub and it was under 1 amp.

Help?

Gold Member
Username: Jan_b_vigne

Dallas, TX

Post Number: 9430