An extremely musical sub for about $450.

Silver Member
Username: Bvan

Cape Town, Copenhagen,...

Post Number: 254
thought I would put down a suggestion for anyone looking for a very good musical sub on the cheep.

I just built this guy

http://www.customanalogue.com/sub_index.htm

it's called a 'critical Q sub' (Q = 0.5) which means, acording to my understanding, that is is well damped/tight and more suited for music than movies. it uses Peerless 12 inch XLS - Model 830500 driver.

It is the first speaker I have built and was pretty easy infact. all thats needed is a circular saw, jigsaw and electric sander. these tools cost me $20 each, new.

I'm not an expert on subs by any means but I can say that is blends in seemlessly with the $2000 Zu's I have (known to be 'electrstatically fast'). It is transparent. It also goes flat to 20hz. And I can confidently say that it is quite a bit better than the $1000 Dynaudio sub I had before this one.

Dont be put off by the DIY thing if you think its not for you. It's not that difficult(not a sub anyway) and is quite fun to do. It also can get you much better sound/pound than buying from a retailer.

cheers

B.

Gold Member
Username: Nuck

Post Number: 4294
That one looks pretty good, B.
How might the run-in be for that driver, I wonder?
How is it placed in your setup, have you put it in a corner or backed up to a wall?

Silver Member
Username: Bvan

Cape Town, Copenhagen,...

Post Number: 255
Couldnt really say about the run in.

Setup wise though I've got it dead centre and EQ'd flat within 2db from 100hz down with a BFD. corner placemnt also woked well but I am aiming for absolute symetry in all room furnishings and equipment racks etc. The amp also has a 12db/octave low pass filter (which the designer of the sub recommends modding to a 18 or 24/db slope) and so I though it best to put the sub centre so as to make it completely unlocalisable.(i could have rolled it off steeper with the parrametric eq ) guess)