Linn Axi, Linn Cartridge, getting occasional distortion...

Username: Wasserman12

Post Number: 4
I have a Linn Axis turntable that I bought on the street for, believe it or not, $15. It sounds fantastic most of the time, However, on a few records in my collection, strangely a few that are cosmetically perfect, I get an intermittent imperfection that sounds like distortion. I have cleaned the affected records immediately before playing and still get the same problem. Could this be a sign that the needle needs to be replaced? Are there any other causes you can suggest? What is the lifespand of a Linn cartridge? Can I replace the needle myself? i'm a total novice.

Gold Member
Username: Jan_b_vigne

Dallas, TX

Post Number: 9191

You don't give much information to go on, but I would guess that "records in my collection" means records that have been played on a different turntable with a different cartridge. More than likely the record has been damaged by the other table/cartridge. Once the vinyl is damaged, you will always hear that moment as distortion. This is only a guess based on what little you've provided. You don't even mention where you live, but I would find a dealer, preferrably a Linn dealer, and take the table to them for a complete set up and check out.

Gold Member
Username: Frank_abela

Berkshire UK

Post Number: 1695