Studio Monitors vs Bookshelf Speakers for HT?

Username: Keebself

Post Number: 1
Hello All,

I am currently trying to decide what type of speaker to get. I have been running AR3's for a few years. My room is 10X10, but I am looking at moving into a house which will more likely be 12x15+. As for a budget, I am looking at spending no more than $3000 on two mains, a center and two surround speakers/monitors.

I am sick of tower speakers and do not know if I should go the bookshelf route or the studio monitor route. I want to first decide on my speakers and depending on which ones I get will then look into a preamp/amp or a receiver.

Here is a rundown on what I will be using this for:

70% Movies
30% Music (This includes everything except heavy metal)

The system I was looking at (let me know what you think)

990 Outlaw Audio PreAmp
(2) Mackie HR824 (main)
(1) Mackie HR626 (center)
(2) Mackie HR624 (surround)
1 JBL Sub (until I get enough cash to get a new one)

Would it be better of to go with this or get Home Audio Speakers with B&W (603 S3 I think).

Thanks for you advice,

Scott

Bronze Member
Username: Stefanom

Silver Spring, MD United States

Post Number: 42
Well first things first, lets discuss studio monitors. They are typically designed strictly for near-field listening, IOW your ears within a few feet of the speakers themselves. While they might sound acceptable for an HT application, it isn't their forte so to speak