Suggestions for exciting sounding bookshelf speakers?

Silver Member
Username: James_the_god

Doncaster, South Yorkshire England

Post Number: 274
I know this is going to make some of you think Im a noob here but here goes.
Ive owned some cambridge soundworks fps1000 speakers using them in 2.1 mode since the year 2000. A few months back I bought some m-audio studio monitors but recently sent them back because the amp was falty and tbh although the sound was far more accurate and the soundstage was better I found they didnt have a 'fun factor'. If anyones heard the cambridge soundworks I have, although there are numerous bad things about the speakers they have a certain clearness and wide 3d soundstage. Its hard to explain. The subwoofer although plastic has something about it too with decent extension and midbass.
Before I go ahead and buy some wharfedale diamond 8.1s, I want to be sure there isnt any bookshelf speakers that will engage me like the cambridge soundworks do. I think a lot of this could be to do with the type of amp, but any help here would be appreciated.
Thanks

Username: Bvg

Arvada, CO

Post Number: 5
I'm not familiar with the Cambridge, but we have some Kef iQ3's that are awesome.

They're pretty easy to drive and have the best sound of any bookshelf I've ever heard in the mid-3-figure price class.

Happy listening.

Username: Stefanom

Dublin, CA United States

Post Number: 9
If this is purely for a computer application, you might consider looking either to CSW's upper lines (eg the Gigaworks/Megaworks), or the Klipsch Promedia line. I currently own the Promedia 2.1, and am very pleased with its performance. While no, it could not ultimately replace my home stereo in performance (which I actually sold, so I guess it has temporarily...), I definately found myself listening to music on the computer a lot more than I had before.