Distortion: AHHH! Where is it coming from?

Username: Jtscott

Post Number: 5
I recently purchased the following:
Cambridge Audio 540 Azur - Integrated Amplifier
Paradigm Mini-monitors - Bookshelf Speakers

I'm currently using them with a progressive scan dvd player for playing CDs. I know it's not optimal, and will most likely only be this way in the short-term.

For the first couple of weeks of owning my new gear I was using speaker pins (with a compression - non solder fitting) to connect to the binding posts on both the amp and speakers. It sounded fantastic. I was in heaven!

I wanted something a little cleaner for quick connection, and decided to switch to banana plugs. I am not an electronic expert, but nevertheless I soldered (rosin-core silver) the speaker wire to the banana plugs, avoiding a cold-joint to the best of my knowledge.

After I finished with connecting the banana plugs, I could swear that I was getting a slightly different sound out of the system. I listened closely (at relatively low volumes) and on some recordings was noticing what may be distortion. I played the same music through headphones on a different system and was not hearing the distortion in some cases and hearing it in others.

Am I going crazy?

I feel confident that in those cases where there was distortion in both, it must have something to do with the way it was recorded. Is this a safe assumption? And could this damage my speakers in any way, if I continue to play it?

In those cases where it differed from one system to the other, what is going on?

Also, the distortion is not consistent. I do not run the speakers at a high volume, so it wouldn't be any sort of amplifier clipping. I'm not sure what could be causing it. Could it be the solder job I did?

Are there any other diagnostic tests I could do to be sure I am not damaging my speakers and that any perceived distortion is coming from the recording and not a part of my setup?

Gold Member
Username: Jan_b_vigne

Dallas, TX