Since im new to tube amps

Gold Member
Username: Insearchofbass

Post Number: 4710
I was wondering what would some good brand names and models in tube amps that I could buy used to get a feel for wether tube amps are for me?

Gold Member
Username: Artk

Albany, Oregon USA

Post Number: 2749
McIntosh.

Gold Member
Username: Jan_b_vigne

Dallas, TX

Post Number: 7503

Put something like "vacuum tube amplifiers vintage audio" into a search engine and read about some amplfiiers. There are some sleepers out there for not much money and there are classics which fetch a high price but return a high price if you decide you don't like that particular amplifier.

Gold Member

Post Number: 4711
Im suprised to read this about the mc 240 considering the clout I heard they had

http://www.audioshopper.com/mc240.htm

Music appreciation time

Hearing music rendered by the MC-240 is an experience. It has the classic melody of a refined tube amp. One is quickly caught by the spacious soundstage, full-bodied rendition of musical notes, and the thereness quality of the human voice. It makes one wonder why listeners then would opt to replace their tube amps with transistors. The truth of the matter is: (1) speakers and upstream components during that time were not as revealing then as they are now, and (2) most consumers place a higher priority on convenience.

Listening to Amanda McBroom sing Only With You in West of Oz (Sheffield CD-15) was magical. Her delicate and trembling voice was captivating. Joni Mitchell was such a joy in her Blue album (Reprise 2038-2). Bonnie Rait's sometimes gravelly voice was vividly portrayed in Luck of the Draw (Capitol CDP 596111). I kept on repeating Eric Clapton's Wonderful Tonight song in his Slowhand album (Polydor 823 276-2).

Weaknesses