What about Electrostatic speakers

Username: Fundoc35

Post Number: 6
I am a newbie to the audiophile world. I am fascinated by electrostatic speakers. I havent listened to one yet as there is no dealer close to where I live. I was wondering if anyone could help me with these questions.

1. How do they fare with the music I listen to
Classic Rock, Classical, Blues and a bit of
metal, world, jazz music..not really into pop or hip hop.

2. Do they need a sub-woofer for bass or will the hybrids work?

3. Anything to choose between the brands. What about ones assembled by third parties?

4. what should I consider about an amp to go with the stats?

Thank you!

Gold Member
Username: John_a

LondonU.K.

Post Number: 3886
Rajesh,

An archived thread here: Quad Electrostatic Loudspeaker 63.

There are other makes, of course, but those I know, and love.

Bronze Member
Username: Plato

Woodbury, NJ

Post Number: 33
Rajesh, I have esperience with the Martin Logans.
IMO, electrostatic is the way to go. I stumbled upon them by accident and fell in love with the sound. I have a pair of Ascent i now replaced by the Vantage. www.martinlogan.com
You really don't need a sub for the bass. I never felt the need for one and I don't have the most perfect sound room. It seems like the interaction between the speaker and the panel was kinda an issue in older models, but believe me, not anymore. But everybody has his/her own taste so...you just gotta listen to them and see for yourself. ampwise,they need a lot of good power. My Logans are 4ohms and go down to >1. You'll be wasting your money buying logans and using a lousy amp.
Electrostatic speakers are hard to position since the sound comes out also from the back of the panel and they are very revealing, so they will highlight any weak link in your system.
Another brand to check would be Magnepan.
Good look in your search.

Gold Member
Username: Edster922

Abubala, Ababala The Occupation

Post Number: 3575