Novice: Major buy/major questions

Username: Crashburn

Post Number: 1
Ok Im going to throw this out here. Im new to all this with regards to home audio systems. I have seriously been thinking and have been extensively been doing my homework on getting a pair of new Speakers and putting together a nice system for both Music and movies. Right now Im using a make shift little bookshelf system but it's definitely not doing me justice and fulfilling my needs. Music doesn't sound any better after you've heard it on a better system!

Granted im not aiming to spend a fortune, that's just not my style or in my finances presently. Although an upgrade is definitely in need to Open up a New World for my growing music collection and DVD's. I don't mind spending for a great deal and most importantly the quality. Which leads me to my speaker choice of Athena. I have heard they are great for both Music and HT. Im pretty sold on these speakers just by reading reviews by several sites. I have also recently just finished hearing & demoing these at Future Shop and a pair of JBL at another store, huge difference IMO. Problem is I don't have a lot of time to make this decision, so it's gotta be quick. The Athena f2's are only on sale till January 2nd and it goes back to it's original price (Here in Canada) at $799 when I can get them for $499 while on sale (Boxing Day week). Im fairly sure I want these puppies, and from what I read, these would be best bang for my buck, even at the original price!

The questions I pose to you guys...
I really need some help with specific receivers that are a good match with these Athena speakers. That's my next purchase after the speakers.