Whole home audio question

Username: Debbiecoffin

Post Number: 1
Hello, I am a novice so plese be patient. and thanks for looking. I have a large home which has been 75% gutted and I intend to install a multi room audio system. I have seen that there are wall plates with ipod connections for individual rooms but I am interested in having the computer/ itunes as the main source for the house. or at least as one source. My question is.... is this possible? Can a minijack go from the computer to a multizone amplifier to the entire house? What possibilities exist here for the digital music library. Again, I have a large house and will have many zones. Possibly as many as 11 pairs and 8 singles (but I haven't figured out how to do that yet).

I will have this work done by an experienced professional but I would like to be as knowledgable as possible before I start this discussion with the installers.

thanks for any advice or information. Debbie

Gold Member
Username: Jan_b_vigne

Dallas, TX

Post Number: 6333

Debbie - I don't think I fully understand all of your questions, but the answer should be you're on the right track to everything you want. Not sure why you want a minijack as opposed to a hard wired system; so I don't know the answer to that question specifically. And I have to admit to not knowing what you mean by, "What possibilities exist here for the digital music library." Which digital music library are we talking about and what do you want to do with it?

Single speakers in one area are accomplished either trough stereo to mono transformers or some in wall manufacturers are now making dual voice coil in wall speakers which do the downmix at the voice coil of the speakers.