Newbie needing some help with distortion

Username: Aberham

San Diego, CA USA

Post Number: 1
This is my first post here but I have been reading this form for a few months. I am a novice so most of my questions are going to be pretty basic to most of you, and I certainly appreciate any help from the experts out there. I realize that distortion in the speakers can be difficult to diagnose but hopefully this will help me understand better what is causing the problems.

My simple setup is an Onkyo TX-SR502 6.1 receiver, 2 tower speakers Sony SS-MF550H, and 2 surrounds and 1 center Sony SS-CN350. I have a Sony 100 watt subwoofer on the way. I realize this is far from being a top notch system but I think it will do me well especially since I live in an apartment.

Basically the problem is that my speakers, mainly the center channel speaker gets a lot of distortion from time to time. I can't control it, sometimes it seems like it is just a connection problem because I will pick up the speaker and move it around which seems to make it temporarly better but it eventually reverts to distorted sound which gets very annoying.

I was talking to someone at an audio store nearby that said it could be because my receiver is only 75 watts per channel and the speakers at 125 watts. Would that be part of the problem? I have tried to make sure the connections are good and I just bought some banana clips but it didn't seem to make much of a difference.

I am completely puzzled and am willing to spend some more money if needed to replace my speakers in order to get the right ones for the receiver that I have. I appreciate any suggestions. Thanks.

Varit
Unregistered guest
The max wattage rating of the speakers has nothing to do with it. But, it's possible the amp is distorting if you turn it up past 50%.

Bronze Member
Username: Uncle_fester

Transylvania

Post Number: 12