Question on power handling

Silver Member
Username: Scubasteve

Annapolis, MD

Post Number: 316
I'm new to home audio, and I had a question concerning the power that companies recommend that people give their loudspeakers. It seems like most speakers you see, even if they have dual 8s and multiple midrange and tweeters will only recommend a few hundred watts RMS (if that), when the raw drivers can handle much much more power than that. Is it because the crossovers can't handle all that power, or they don't want to scare consumers off thinking that they will need to buy multi-kilowatt amplifier to run the speakers or what?

Bronze Member
Username: Devils_advocate

Post Number: 89
Power handling numbers are all but meaningless in the real world.

Silver Member

Annapolis, MD

Post Number: 317
would you care to explain that one?

Bronze Member

Post Number: 91
How detailed of an explanation do you want? There are a lot of reasons.

Bronze Member

Post Number: 92
Heres a short list.

1. Receiver manufacturers lie about power ratings.
2. Speaker manufacturers give the power handling characteristics as a guideline, it is by no means set in stone.
3. You are much more likely to destroy your speakers buy underpowering them (causing your receiver to go into clipping) than overpowering them (if you purchased some Bose cubes and Mark Levinson amplifiers).

Silver Member

Annapolis, MD

Post Number: 318
Any time anyone could take out their schedule would be just fine. I'm not a complete audio newb who doesn't know the difference between true RMS handling, peak handling, true thermal dissipation abilites, etc. My background is in car audio where you usually attempt to have an amp (or a channel of an amp) for each component that can supply the RMS handling of the driver, assuming you believe this is a truthful claim by the speaker company. I was just wondering why this is (seemingly) different in home audio.

Silver Member

Annapolis, MD

Post Number: 319