New home audio project

Silver Member
Username: Scubasteve

Annapolis, MD

Post Number: 257
Hey guys, this is my first time posting on the Home Audio side of the forum. I came across some very low costing drivers from the adire ebay outlet store. I bought some new Peerless 5" midbass speakers:

http://www.d-s-t.com/link/peerless/data/850108.htm

and a "lightly used" pair of Adire Mark 1 compression tweeters.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem%26item%3D5788096604&ed=11224148890 00&ssPageName=ADME:B:EOTB:US:6

I'll be building crossovers and a cabinet for these speakers and when I plugged them into my Box-Port design program, it recommended a volume of 7.82 Liters. Here's a printout:

http://img113.imageshack.us/my.php?image=peerless57qm.png

I was hoping that someone with more enclosure design experience could look over this configuration and see if looked good or if there was a better way to do it.

Also, to avoid double posting on the amplifier page, if anyone knew what a good amp for bi-amping these speakers would be. Each component can handle about 100 W rms. I won't need a reciever, just a 4 channel amp that takes an auxiliary source input would be great. For the time being, the source for these speakers will be my computer, so I won't be needing any outboard equilization.
I really appreciate the help with my first DIY home audio project.

Silver Member

Annapolis, MD

Post Number: 258
gahhh, sorry about the non-functional ebay link, here's Adire's page for the Mark II version compression tweeters:

http://www.adireaudio.com/Home/ACD1.htm

Silver Member
Username: Dakulis

Spokane, Washington United States

Post Number: 299
Steve,

I suggest that you have Tim or Jan take a look. There are several other folks that are pretty knowledgeable as well but these two would be your most likely sources and Tim has produced a great speaker that he's selling so he's been there, done that.

Gold Member
Username: Jan_b_vigne

Dallas, TX

Post Number: 4663