Why does the Cd Player make a difference

Username: Crl21

Ann Arbor, Michigan USA

Post Number: 7
I'm new to hifi and I'm trying to understand why the CD player in the system would make a big difference. It is very clear to me why the receiver and speakers would impact the quality of the system, but I can't quite understand the CD player. Here's my thought process. If a CD player is hooked up with a coaxial cable or optic cable, the CD player is simply sending the receiver 1's and 0's. If a CD player can do that then anything above that is just bells and whistles right? Help me understand this. Thanks.

Moffball71
Unregistered guest
Hi There Chad;
There are many factors involved in what constitutes a good CD player. Not all CD players are good. These factors involve the quality of the CD transport, that is, the mechanism that spins and reads the CD. A poor qaulity transport will be susceptible to jitter and may have difficulty reading all the information on a CD, therefore requiring the increased use of the inbuilt error correction of the CD player which can significantly alter the sound.

The other factor to take into consideration is the quality of the D/A convertors (Digital to Analogue convertors). In general, CD has a sampling resolution of 44KHz at 16bits. This means when an analogue waveform is recorded and converted to digital information, a point on the waveform is sampled and given a value represented by a string of 16 ones and zeros. This is done 44,000 times a second. So hypothetically, if you have an audio frequency of 1Hz (one complete wave cycle a second) it will be sampled at 44,000 different points.