Amp questions

Bronze Member
Username: Divin11112000

Michigan

Post Number: 16
I am fairly new to the high end equipment and I have a few questions concerning amps. I plan on purchasing an amp to power my Klipsch rf35's, rc35 & rs35's for HT.
I have been considering an Aragon amp probably a 5channel. However I came across a Sunfire amp for a cheaper price. I noticed that the sunfire has connections "current source" and "voltage source". I'm pretty sure I can get pretty close price wise, but I don't know how to choose an amp.
I have been told that high current runs woofers better while high voltage runs tweeters better. Is this true?

I will be using a pioneer vsx-d811s as a preamp for the system if that matters at all.

Thanks in advance
chris

J. Vigne
Unregistered guest
Have you been told also that big woofers produce deeper bass response than smaller drivers? It is, on its face, a lie also. Too many myths exist in audio that are used to sell a product to an uninformed public by an uninformed sales staff.

Current is needed to make the most of a large low frequency driver if there is a wide swing in the impedance of the entire circuit. Back electromotive force is overcome by higher amounts of current is a good general rule. These both relate to the basic principle of output resistance to input resistance, a matter of Ohm's Law. Throw in impedance, which few salespeople can explain, and you have a situation ripe with dishonesty, whether intended or not. But, rules are there to be broken not made to fit one's agenda.