Digital Coaxial in for DVD on STR-DE597 Not Working

Username: Spacemoose

Post Number: 1
Ok, let me begin by saying that I'm very new to this, but I'm a pretty smart guy, and have thoroughly read my manuals, as well as exhaustively (and I mean it) searched this site, google web and google groups. Now that I sound like an arogant pryck (hmm can't say pryck?), let me begin. :-) (Just wanted to avoid the preliminaries and get down to business)

My problem is that I cannot get any audio signal from my Sony DVD NS415 to my Sony Receiver STR-DE597 using the "DVD in Coaxial".

I'm certain that I've correctly set up my DVD player, and that it is playing a Dolby Digital (tried DTS too) DVD (Lord of the Rings Spec Ed 6.1 DTS).

The reason that I'm certain is that when I switch to the optical audio cable from my DVD to the Video 2 optical in on my receiver, I get the sound and Dolby Digital 3/2.1 (or DTS 3/3.1) scrolls on the display of the receiver. When I swap the cables back to DVD coax, and switch over to the DVD mode on my receiver, there's no sound at all.

So:

DVD >1m optical> Receiver Video 2: Works perfectly
DVD >1m coaxial> Receiver DVD: No sound whatsoever

There's no issue with both cables being pluged in, as the same results occur if I have both connections running to the Receiver at the same time, or disconnect the optical entirely.

And yes, I've double-checked the input for the DVD mode on my Receiver. It doesn't work when auto select is set, nor does it work when I force it to accept Coax.

Some extra data that, from what I can tell, couldn't possibly affect this:

1. I've only got 2 dinky speakers hooked up to my Speaker B set (waiting for my speakers to arrive). But since the optical in plays the DD or DTS perfectly (well, not well, as it's only L+R and no centre channel, but it's still working), this can't affect it.