Sound problem

Username: Tuner

Post Number: 1
ok im new to this...i just bought a sony ps-lx520. im not sure if the needle is bad or if i just cant find a good ground.

when i hook everything up and hit play i get very little sound. i have to turn everyting up max to just barly hear the record. would a bad ground or no ground at all cause this lack of sound or would it just be a bad needle. i know its not the amp because when i put the radio on it sounds fine very load actually

ive tried grounding to the plug screw and behind the plug face plate but it didnt make any diffrence in sound.

someone...anyone...please HELP!!!

Username: Pyrensyth

Post Number: 1
does the amp have a phono input? If not, you need a preamp, the signal that comes from a stylus is very small, so unlike with cd players etc, you need a preamp. If the amp has a phono input, it has a preamp built in for that purpose.

Post Number: 2
my amp does have a phono input. is it possable that because the amp is about 25 years old and the turntable is about 5 that i still may need a pre-amp?

J. Vigne
Unregistered guest

Grounding is not the problem nor is the age of the components. It sounds like you might have knocked the stylus off the cantilever. Can you actually see the stylus on the end of the cantilever?

Post Number: 3
i actually dont know what the stylus or the cantilever are...im new to all this. is there any links you know of that show a pic or whatnot of these parts?

thanks

J. Vigne
Unregistered guest

Off hand I can't think of an illustration I could send you to quickly. Does the turntable have a removeable headshell. If you're not sure, refer to your owner's manual.

Silver Member
Username: Frank_abela

Berkshire UK

Post Number: 276
Grant,