Phono without phono input?

sean333
Unregistered guest
I'm a newbie entering the world of home theater & a/v set up. I'm on a budget (trying to stay around that $500 figure, or so...) and am going to build piece by piece. Most receivers I'm interested in have one problem -- a lack of a phone input. (This seems to come only on higher end models.) Is there a way to safely and properly hook up a record play to a receiver if it doesn't have a specific input? What kind of pre-amp unit would I need? Are there grounding issues? I welcome any advice...I may be off in the wrong direction and maybe I should invest more in a receiver?

Welcome any thoughts...

Dina
Unregistered guest
I know this problem well - when my old receiver gave up the ghost, I got a new one, only to hyperventilate when I discovered that most new amps no longer have a phono input. It's an easy problem to fix - you'll need to buy yourself a phono pre-amp, it's a very small and light preamp that provides sufficient boost so that the phono can be heard. It's not hard to hook up - you'll hook the cable into the tape/md input. I'd give you the name of a very good company from which I ordered mine, but the name escapes me. I'll look it up and revert!

Silver Member
Username: Frank_abela

Berkshire UK

Post Number: 277
Sean

It's not just grounding issues. The cartridge sends out a signal 1000 times lower than the typical line level device such as a CD player or tuner. Also, the grooves in the record are not a direct reflection of the signal - they're a version of the original music that's been squeezed into a groove. The phono preamp has to do two things therefore.

1. It has to unsqueeze the signal into proper bass mid and treble frequencies. The squeezing and unsqueezing follows a particular curve called the RIAA curve.