Pioneer VSX-D812 versus Pioneer Elite VSX-41

Unregistered guest
I wonder why the Pioneer Elite VSX-41 ($350 or so) costs so much more than a Pioneer VSX-D812 ($225). Both have very similar looks, specs and features. They weight the same as well, so I wonder how similar they are inside.

Is the Elite line really built differently? Or is it all marketing?

As far as I can tell, the VSX-41 has better D/A converters, an extra optical input (on the front panel), a learning remote, 110W instead of 100W. The D812 has a few extra surround modes and manual MCACC delay and level calibration (which the 41 does not have)

Thanks!

Bronze Member
Username: Johnny

Post Number: 75
Peter,

I am by no means an expert on the Elite line, but in my quest for a new receiver a couple of months ago, I was looking at the VSX-41 for a short time. For the most part, the Elite line is definately built much differently than the rest of the Pioneer models. The power supplies, DAC's, etc. are all MUCH better in the Elite line. In fact, I think Elite receivers have some of the best power supplies out there. However, from what I understand, the 41 is the exception to this rule. For this model, as you have found through your research, I think the "Elite" designation is probably mostly marketing. I have heard from several different sources (including many on this forum) that the 41 is basically the same as a "regular" Pioneer and is generally vastly inferior to the other monsters in the Elite line. These warnings seemed to be proven correct when I actually listened to the 41. Its sound was no where near as warm and inviting as the others in the Elite line. I came across something else when doing my research on the 41...don't believe the 110 watt power rating. I checked the online owners manual, and if I remember correctly, this rating was only with 2 channels driven and at 1kHz (as opposed to all channels driven at the entire audible spectrum). This all means that the power ratings of the 41 are in