Not all dvd-a's the same? even the same ones?

savoybrown
Unregistered guest
i'm relatively new to this format, but have recently purchased a denon 2200 & am excited about the anticipation of "better sound". i have a specific question about formats, though.

i was about to buy steely dan's gaucho, but there were two of them: one of them was dvd-a for $19.99, while the other was a dvd-a dts version for $29.99. is the dts version of a dvd-a that much better that it warrants the higher price?

any thoughts?

Silver Member
Username: Ghiacabriolet

NC

Post Number: 540
I haven't heard the DTS version but it would not be worth that much of a price difference to me. Ironically, "Gaucho" is a disc in which I bought the SACD version and the DVD-A version for comparative purposes. If I'm recalling my prices correctly, I paid $14.99 for the SACD and $15.99 for the DVD-A. Both versions sounded great but my preference was for the SACD mix.

Bronze Member
Username: Culp4684

Post Number: 87
I've also noticed that some of the initial DVD-A offerings, like the Steely Dan title you mentioned, have the DTS 5.1 logo on them.

Is it possible that the DVD-A format somehow "evolved" from a DTS 5.1 audio format?

savoybrown
Unregistered guest
don't know where the dvd-a format originated, but i've read somewhere on this board that the difference between the two is that there is more information available on a dvd-a which results in better, or fuller, sound.

that's why i was initially asking if it's worth spending an extra $10.00 on the same disk with a dts designation.

Silver Member
Username: Arnold_layne

MadridSpain

Post Number: 276
DTS is compressed -> some information is lost. For DVD-A, lossless MLP compression is used.

DTS is about squeezing many channels into a S/PDIF digital coaxial cable, whilst DVD-A aims at reproducing high-resolution audio at the same quality as it was recorded/mastered.

Cheers
AL

savoybrown
Unregistered guest