Oh yes.... the newbie asks for help on speaker set-up.

Bronze Member
Username: Lytalbayre

Post Number: 18
What I have:
HK AVR630
Athena AS-C1 (center)
Athena AS-F2 x2 (fronts)
Athena AS-B1 x4 (surrounds)
HSU STF02 (sub)

Question 1: Do the AS-B1 have enough range to be set as large speakers on the HT receiver?

Question 2: Based on these speakers, what should by crossover be for my sub, and should I set it on the receiver or on the sub itself/

Questions 3: If I allow my receiver to control x-over to sub, etc., how to set the settings on the sub to allow this?

Yes... I'm new to all this.

Thanks for y'alls help.

Bronze Member
Username: Kano

Post Number: 60
"Injection Molded Polypropylene 5-1/2" woofer provides authoritative bass response down to 60Hz. "

Set the centre and surrounds as small.

The AS-F2s get down to 35Hz so I think you'll like them set to large. Try both, I have a similar set-up and like my Polk Rti8s set to large.

I'd just leave the receivers crossovers the way they are, I have the HK AVR430 and didn't adjust it. Set the sub to L/R/LFE.

With the sub, I'd start with the crossover set to around 100Hz, then start turning it down. THX recommends 80Hz crossover, and I prefer it down as far as 60Hz for some media. Just decide what sounds best for you.

I think you'll love that sey-up, don't forget to adjust the speaker levels. If you don't have an SPL meter or are planning on moving your set-up around a bit, the HK's EZset function does a pretty good job of setting the speaker levels. Just sit in your favorite chair, press the Ezset button, pick 7 channels, and don't move.

Silver Member
Username: Petergalbraith

Rimouski, Quebec Canada

Post Number: 220
Kano answered part of it so I won't bother looking up the specs for the speakers and will rely on him.

Set the sub to "bypass" its own crossover (and let the receiver handle it).