Speaker, subwoofer, and receiver advice

Anonymous
I have about 300, maybe 400$ at most to spend on a new set of speakers, so most likely im looking at a set of bookshelf speakers. I currently have a pair of '97 (i think) JBL MR25s hooked to a denon stereo receiver of the same year. Another possibility I am considering is purchasing a subwoofer with that money. My problem is, since I know very very little about the technical side of stereo equipment (and by very little i mean nothing), I don't know if I can even hook up a woofer to my receiver. I am a musician and have an ear for fine sound quality (which is why my current system is somewhat dissappointing) and would love some advice as to what I should purchase, and if its even possible for me to get a woofer. Thanks fellas.
--Ben

by the way, the Denon receiver model is DRA-375RD. Thanks again.
--Ben

well, in case anyone was wondering, i figured most of my problems out. I can't hook up a subwoofer to my receiver, so I bought a paair of JBL S38II bookshelf speakers for a great price. heard some good things about them and im quite excited to receive them. If anyone has used these speakers I would love to hear your thoughts.
--Ben

How do I hookup the left and right channels of my receiver to a single RCA imput of a subwoofer

Alford Holland
Ben, you should be able to hook a subwoofer to your receiver. If you do not have a sub out connection on you receiver then you connect by just using the speaker wires.
Connect the speaker wires to the subwoofer and then run another set of speaker wires from the sub to your speakers.

Dave, you do not hook left and right channels to a sub using your method unless the receiver has pre out/in connections. You use the sub out connection on the receiver or connect as I explained to Ben if you do not have sub out on your receiver.

how do i go about hooking up a separate power amp to my receiver that does have pre outs ?

my system is : receiver = Carver c-1000a